TRAHC hon­ors its he­roes for the arts

Texarkana Gazette - - ACCENT -

The Texarkana Re­gional Arts and Hu­man­i­ties Coun­cil hon­ored it 2018 TRAHC He­roes Award win­ners prior to the re­cent Sir James and Lady Gal­way con­cert at the Perot The­atre. That con­cert kicked off the 2018-2019 Perot The­atre Se­ries pre­sented by TRAHC.

This year’s win­ners are: Lead­er­ship Award—Lynn

Whitt and DeAnna Cray­tor:

Rec­og­niz­ing in­di­vid­ual(s) who ex­press their com­mit­ment to the arts by step­ping out as ex­em­plary mod­els of sup­port for the arts in Texarkana, and who, by so do­ing, pos­i­tively af­fect the qual­ity of life for all ci­ti­zens.

Arts Part­ner Award—Jerome

LeGrand: Rec­og­niz­ing or­ga­ni­za­tions or busi­nesses that ac­tively work to em­power in­di­vid­u­als and the com­mu­nity to grow through the arts by work­ing in full part­ner­ship with TRAHC.

Arts Cham­pion Award—

David Orr: Rec­og­niz­ing in­di­vid­u­als who work ac­tively as ad­vo­cates for the arts, who heighten our un­der­stand­ing, cre­at­ing a com­mu­nity in which the arts can flour­ish.

Arts Ed­u­ca­tor Award—Shea

Phillips: Rec­og­niz­ing in­di­vid­u­als who, through their teach­ing of the arts, en­rich and trans­form lives.

Art­sS­mart Award—Me­lanie

Mel­son and Vir­ginia Sch­wope:

Rec­og­niz­ing ed­u­ca­tors who are mod­els of the mas­ter­ful art­srich teach­ing, which en­gages our stu­dents, tun­ing them into their world and turn­ing them on to learn­ing.

Young Cool Cre­atives Award—Sarah and Joel Wright:

Rec­og­niz­ing young, cre­ative in­di­vid­ual(s) whose lead­er­ship is in­te­gral to de­vel­op­ing and who en­sures the fu­ture of arts lead­er­ship in the com­mu­nity.

Stand­ing Ova­tion Award—

Alice Cole­man: Rec­og­niz­ing TRAHC vol­un­teer(s) whose ex­tra­or­di­nary gifts of time and en­ergy sig­nif­i­cantly en­hance the im­pact of TRAHC in the com­mu­nity. Betty Parker Award—Mary Star­rett: Awarded only in spe­cial cir­cum­stances to rec­og­nize in­di­vid­u­als who have gone above and beyond, in con­tin­u­ously sup­port­ing and pro­mot­ing the arts in our com­mu­nity and mak­ing the qual­ity of life in the re­gion richer for all of us.

Out­stand­ing Com­mu­nity Im­pact—Bowie County: A rarely awarded honor given for pro­foundly and pos­i­tively af­fect­ing Texarkana ci­ti­zens through ex­em­plary and long stand­ing sup­port of the Texarkana Re­gional Arts & Hu­man­i­ties Coun­cil, Inc.

This year’s 2018 TRAHC He­roes Award was cre­ated by Glo­ria Ross.

Staff photo by Hunt Mercier

■ Win­ners of 2018 TRAHC Hero awards pose for a group photo at the Perot Theater.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.