Flores sweeps week­end at PPL Cen­ter in Al­len­town

The Boyertown Area Times - - SPORTS - By Ernie Sax­ton For Dig­i­tal First Me­dia

Ryan Flores, of Cor­nelius, N.C., swept the (Three Quar­ter) TQ Midget Indoor Rac­ing Week­end fea­tures in­side the Al­len­town PPL Cen­ter by out­run­ning up­start Tommy Cata­lano and hard-charg­ing Jimmy Blewett to win the main event Satur­day night for the sec­ond straight night.

“I got to­gether with Erick (Ru­dolph) in the mid­dle of the race on a restart and all of the sud­den he (Tommy Cata­lano) is there mak­ing it three wide and tak­ing the lead,” Flores said.

“He was good, but I could see he was run­ning at his limit. Next thing, he spun and I was able to pass him.”

That was just the begin­ning of a se­ries of im­prob­a­ble events that Flores was able to con­quer to win for the sec­ond straight night. At var­i­ous times over the fi­nal ten laps of a cau­tion­plagued race, Ru­dolph, Jonathan Reid, An­thony Se­sely, Justin Bon­signore, and Cata­lano, for a sec­ond time, lined up along­side or be­hind Flores.

Cata­lano im­pressed by fin­ish­ing sec­ond af­ter spin­ning while lead­ing.

“Couldn’t be hap­pier,” said Cata­lano. “I went to the rear of the field, what, three, four times? I didn’t even qual­ify for the Fri­day fea­ture. We changed ev­ery­thing on the car for tonight, swing­ing for the fences, and al­most won it.”

Blewett, third at race’s end, was the emo­tional op­po­site of Cata­lano. “It was a frus­trat­ing week­end all the way around,” Blewett said. “This was a rough night.”

Blewett ac­tu­ally failed to qual­ify for the TQ fea­ture but was added to back of the 25-car field as the high point driver who had not qual­i­fied. He also drove a backup car, one that had been on dis­play in the PPL Cen­ter’s Mez­za­nine, start­ing last, fin­ish­ing third, and earn­ing the Schneider Scrap Metal Hard Charger Award.

Andy Jankowiak and Tim Buck­wal­ter were fourth and fifth. Chad Jones, Justin Bon­signore, Jonathan Reid, Brett Michal­ski and Matt Roselli rounded out the top ten.

Flores had come into the PPL Cen­ter week­end hav­ing never won a LSMP Indoor fea­ture. He now has two straight vic­to­ries to add to his prior five sec­ond place ef­forts.

Chris Da­ley mas­tered the Champ Kart fea­ture field in the Satur­day night co-fea­ture by lap two and went on to dom­i­nate the 20lap head­liner. JJ Pa­covich, Tren­ton LSMP Indoor win­ner Cale Ross, DJ Doyle and TJ Reed com­pleted the top five.

The win was Da­ley’s eighth ca­reer win in LSMPpro­moted events and was the first Champ Kart race in­side PPL Cen­ter.

Six TQ Midget ten lap heat races and three 12-lap B mains pre­ceded the fea­ture ac­tion to win­now the 52-car field down to the 24 fea­ture starters.

Ryan Flores, Erick Ru­dolph, Tim Buck­wal­ter, Nick Ladyga, Ted Christo­pher and Earl Paules won the heats with Scott Kreut­ter, Zane Zeiner and Ryan Krachun cap­tur­ing B Main wins.

Ryan Swartz, TJ Reed and JJ Pa­covich won the three eight lap Champ Kart heat races run for the 22kart field and Gene Gre­goric III won the eight lap B Main.

The Indoor Auto Rac­ing Cham­pi­onship Se­ries closes out at At­lantic City, N.J.’s Board­walk Hall Jan­uary 27-28, 2017 with the 15th An­nual NAPA Auto Parts Clas­sic.

Three Quar­ter (TQ) Midget Fea­ture Fin­ish (40 Laps): 1. Ryan Flores, 2. Tommy Cata­lano, 3. Jimmy Blewett, 4. Andy Jankowiak, 5. Tim Buck­wal­ter, 6. Chad Jones, 7. Justin Bon­signore, 8. Jonathan Reid, 9. Brett Michal­ski, 10. Matt Roselli, 11. Tim Proc­tor, 12. An­thony Se­sely, 13. Earl Paules, 14. Erick Ru­dolph, 15. Ryan Tid­man, 16. Zane Zeiner, 17. An­drew Krause, 18. Scott Kreut­ter, 19. Ryan Krachun, 20. Ted Chisto­pher, 21. Nick Ladyda, 22. Bran­don Az­za­lina, 23. Rob Neely, 24. Dakota Kessler, 25. Kyle Lick.

Champ Kart Fea­ture Fin­ish (20 Laps): 1. Chris Da­ley, 2. JJ Pa­covich, 3. Cale Ross, 4. DJ Doyle, 5. TJ Reed, 6. Ryan Swartz, 7. Tim Gre­gory, 8. Jeremy Tuttle, 9. Adam Gio­vanetti, 10. Craig Pellegrini, 11. Jes­sica Lit­tle, 12. Dal­ton Rovira, 13. Tyler Tank, 14. Alex Achey, 15. Gene Gre­goric III, 16. Phil Sa­ba­tine, 17. Jon Pepe, 18. Austin Bren­gel, 19. John Berger, 20. Richie Spaide.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.