Four ap­ply to fill Ziegler’s board seat

The Boyertown Area Times - - FRONT PAGE - By Evan Brandt ebrandt@21st-cen­tu­ry­ @PottstownNews on Twit­ter

DOU­GLASS (MONT.) >> So far, four town­ship res­i­dents, in­clud­ing a for­mer su­per­vi­sor, have ap­plied to fill the seat left va­cant on the Board of Su­per­vi­sors by Fred Ziegler’s res­ig­na­tion last month.

The res­ig­na­tion was part of a plea agree­ment which ended the crim­i­nal case against Ziegler, a for­mer town­ship po­lice chief who was charged with theft and pleaded guilty to a sec­ond-de­gree mis­de­meanor charge of unsworn fal­si­fi­ca­tion re­lated to a sub­poena he handed to Boy­er­town Po­lice Chief Barry Leather­man that matched no le­gal case in court.

Part of plea re­quired that he re­sign im­me­di­ately from the su­per­vi­sors’s board.

Dur­ing Tues­day night’s re­or­ga­ni­za­tion meet­ing of the su­per­vi­sors — dur­ing which An­thony Kuk­lin­ski and Alan Keiser re-

tained their po­si­tions as chair­man and vice chair­man, re­spec­tively — it was also re­vealed that four peo­ple have ap­plied to fill the board’s third seat.

They are, Con­sta­ble Josh Stouch; for­mer su­per­vi­sor John Stacik, whom Keiser ousted in 2015; Roger Upde­grove, who has served on the town­ship’s recre­ation and Act 209 com­mit­tees; and res­i­dent Ge­orge Kirk­wood.

The su­per­vi­sors an­nounced Tues­day night they will in­ter­view the ap­pli­cants pub­licly at a spe­cial meet­ing on Satur­day, Jan. 14, at 10 p.m. in the town­ship build­ing.

Kuk­lin­ski said the board will con­tinue to ac­cept let­ters of in­ter­est from those who want to fill the seat un­til then.

By law, a new su­per­vi­sor must be cho­sen by the re­main­ing two board mem­bers by Jan. 19, oth­er­wise the town­ship’s va­cancy board will take over the de­ci­sion.

How­ever, Kuk­lin­ski in­di­cated the board in­tends to vote on ap­point­ing a new mem­ber at the meet­ing sched­uled for Tues­day, Jan. 17.

In other busi­ness, in ad­di­tion to nam­ing their chair­man and vice chair­man Tues­day, the board also re-ap­pointed:

• Peter Hiryak as town­ship man­ager

• Barry Tem­plin as po­lice chief

• Robert Brant as town­ship so­lic­i­tor

• Matt Doll as the plan­ning agency so­lic­i­tor

• Gil­more & As­soc. as the town­ship’s en­gi­neer­ing firm

• Marcy Meit­zler as the town­ship sec­re­tary

• Cyn­thia O’Don­nell as the trea­surer

• Michael Heydt as the road­mas­ter

• Robert Dries as the zon­ing of­fi­cer

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.