Pottstown’s Marvin Pear­son wins pres­ti­gious David L. Freed award

Se­nior rec­og­nized for courage and abil­ity to over­come the odds at PAC ban­quet

The Boyertown Area Times - - SPORTS - By Sam Ste­wart sstew­art@21st-cen­tu­ry­media. com @Sa­muel_Ste­wart7 on Twit­ter

UP­PER PROV­I­DENCE >> He won’t leave the PAC as a leader in any sta­tis­ti­cal cat­e­gory.

Yet Pottstown’s Marvin Pear­son will leave an in­deli­ble mark on the con­fer­ence for his courage and his abil­ity to over­come the odds to put on the pads for the blue and white this sea­son.

Fit­tingly, Pear­son was named the re­cip­i­ent of the pres­ti­gious David L. Freed award at the an­nual Pi­o­neer Ath­letic Con­fer­ence foot­ball ban­quet Sun­day at River-Crest Golf Club that put a bow on the 2016 sea­son.

“I knew I was get­ting an award but I didn’t know ex­actly what it would be for,” Pear­son said af­ter the ban­quet, clutch­ing his hon­orary plaque. “It was def­i­nitely a sur­prise go­ing up there and be­ing hon­ored for such a spe­cial award named for some­one who did such

spe­cial things.”

The award is named af­ter the for­mer Spring-Ford line­man who died dur­ing a tragic prac­tice ac­ci­dent in 1975 af­ter col­lid­ing with a spring-loaded block­ing ma­chine that has since been taken off the mar­ket. It’s an award de­signed to be given to a se­nior who em­bod­ies ded­i­ca­tion, self im­prove­ment and un­ques­tion­ing faith of the awards name­sake.

Pear­son fit all of those at­tributes and then some.

The run­ning back blind since the age of 12, trans­ferred from the Over­brook School for the Blind for his se­nior sea­son. He made the na­tional me­dia cir­cuit af­ter he scored on a 68-yard touch­down run against Potts­grove on Oc­to­ber 1, ul­ti­mately end­ing up on “The Ellen Show” where he was given a $10,000 schol­ar­ship and a chance to fly to New Or­leans to meet child­hood idol in quar­ter­back Drew Brees.

“Be­ing picked out of the hun­dreds of stu­dent-ath­letes, I was blessed to get this award,” Pear­son said. “It’s the cherry on top of the great suc­cess I was able to have this year in com­ing back to Pottstown and liv­ing for the mo­ment.”

There were other spe­cial award re­cip­i­ents at the event which in­cluded con­fer­ence Most Valu­able Player’s in Perkiomen Val­ley’s Stephen Sturm and Potts­grove’s Rah­sul Fai­son.

“I’m hon­ored to re­ceive this award but this is some­thing telling of our en­tire team,” Sturm said. “I couldn’t have done what I did this sea­son with­out them so I want to give credit to them, my par­ents, my coaches, the Viking com­mu­nity and most im­por­tantly, the kids on our team. With­out them, none of this wold be pos­si­ble. I’m thank­ful for them.”

I’m thank­ful for my fam­ily and my team­mates,” Fai­son added. “With­out them none of this would be pos­si­ble.”

Potts­grove’s Par­ris Janusek and Perkiomen Val­ley’s Chris Jimenez won the Bill Rogers Line­man of the Year awards while Up­per Perkiomen’s Tyler Whary and Perkiomen Val­ley’s Justin Ja­worski took home hon­ors as the best Two-Way play­ers. Of­fen­sive Player of the Year awards went to Phoenixville’s Matt Gar­cia and Spring-Ford’s Stone Scar­celle; De­fen­sive Player of the Year hon­ors were re­ceived by Pottstown’s Isa­iah Mayes and Perkiomen Val­ley’s Mario Scotese. Owen J. Roberts’ Nick Du­li­akas was the win­ner of the Joseph Ed­wards Schol­ar­ship.


Ten PAC foot­ball play­ers were rec­og­nized for their suc­cess on the field this sea­son. Pic­tured top from left to right: Perkiomen Val­ley’s Justin Ja­worski (Lib­erty Divi­sion 2-Way Player of the Year), Perkiomen Val­ley’s Stephen Sturm (Lib­erty Divi­sion MVP); Perkiomen Val­ley’s Chris Jimenez (Bill Rogers Lib­erty Divi­sion Line­man of the Year), Spring-Ford’s Stone Scar­celle (Lib­erty Divi­sion Of­fen­sive Player of the Year) and Potts­grove’s Rah­sul Fai­son (Fron­tier Divi­sion Of­fen­sive Player of the Year). Bot­tom from left to right: Perkiomen Val­ley’s Mario Scotese (Lib­erty Divi­sion De­fen­sive Player of the Year), Potts­grove’s Par­ris Janusek (Fron­tier Line­man of the Year), Phoenixville’s Matt Gar­cia (Fron­tier Divi­sion Of­fen­sive Player of the Year), Pottstown’s Isa­iah Mayes (Fron­tier Divi­sion De­fen­sive Player of the Year) and Up­per Perkiomen’s Tyler Whary (Fron­tier Divi­son 2-Way Player of the Year)

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.