Among 2017 ap­point­ments, MCCC board sees shake-up

The Boyertown Area Times - - LOCAL NEWS - By Kait­lyn Foti kfoti@21st-cen­tu­ry­ @kait­lyn­foti on Twit­ter

NOR­RIS­TOWN >> Among the many ap­point­ments made by Mont­gomery County Com­mis­sion­ers at the first meet­ing of 2017, a set of ap­point­ments for the Mont­gomery County Com­mu­nity Col­lege Board of Trustees drew some at­ten­tion.

The ap­point­ments re­placed four of the five terms on the board that re­cently ex­pired, with the com­mis­sion­ers reap­point­ing only one of the trustees, Rich Mon­tal­bano.

Fol­low­ing the meet­ing, com­mis­sion­ers’ Chair­woman Val Arkoosh stated that Mon­tal­bano and Ge­of­frey Bran­don had both sought to be reap­pointed, but she said a “num­ber of fac­tors” went into de­cid­ing on new board mem­bers.

“Longevity of ser­vice, in­creases in di­ver­sity on the board, look­ing at in some cases, par­tic­i­pa­tion and de­gree of par­tic­i­pa­tion, and we de­cided to make changes,” Arkoosh said.

Com­mis­sioner Joe Gale stated that he had also re­ceived a let­ter from for­mer Trustee Moon Ahn seek­ing reap­point­ment. Ahn’s term ex­pired with­out reap­point­ment in De­cem­ber. Arkoosh said she was not aware Ahn wanted to re­main on the board.

Arkoosh in­sisted that the four new board mem­bers “bring spe­cific skill sets to the board” and were not meant to in­ter­fere with the up­com­ing elec­tion for board chair­man.

The trustees will vote this month on whether to keep Chair­man Michael D’Aniello, who had been openly crit­i­cal of the com­mis­sion­ers’ pre­vi­ous cuts in fund­ing the col­lege, in the role. The nom­i­nat­ing com­mit­tee met in Novem­ber and came back dead­locked on its rec­om­men­da­tion for chair­man.

“It’s up to the board to choose their chair and that process will pro­ceed as it does ev­ery year,” Arkoosh said.

Gale, the lone Re­pub­li­can com­mis­sioner, voted against the ap­point­ments for the com­mu­nity col­lege board, along with ap­point­ments to the Mont­gomery County Hous­ing Author­ity, the SEPTA Cit­i­zens Ad­vi­sory Com­mit­tee, the In­de­pen­dence Health Group Board of Di­rec­tors, the Val­ley Forge Tourism and Con­ven­tion Board and the Mont­gomery County Work­force Devel­op­ment Board.

“No one re­quested my in­put,” Gale said. “I found out yes­ter­day who the new ap­point­ments were, and I had no in­put, no con­sid­er­a­tion. I wasn’t in­volved in the ef­fort. I would have liked to have been.”

The four new mem­bers ap­pointed to the col­lege’s board are Pres­i­dent of G2G As­so­ci­ates Lisa Ben­der, for­mer Mont­gomery County Di­rec­tor of Com­mu­ni­ca­tions Frank Custer, speech lan­guage pathol­o­gist and clin­i­cal fel­low­ship su­per­vi­sor for the Mont­gomery County In­ter­me­di­ate Unit Michele Jervis-Schultz, and se­nior vice pres­i­dent of pa­tient care ser­vices at Abing­ton Me­mo­rial Hos­pi­tal Terry Reilly.

“The peo­ple that were the ul­ti­mate fi­nal group all bring some­thing to the board that other board mem­bers thought would be of great ben­e­fit to the board,” Arkoosh said.

To the Mont­gomery County Agri­cul­tural Land Preser­va­tion Board, com­mis­sion­ers reap­pointed Arthur Bus­tard, John Corkum, Stephen Quigley and Jonathan Rinde.

To the Mont­gomery County Hous­ing Author­ity, the board ap­pointed Kathy Pfifer and reap­pointed the Rev. Dr. John Ed­ward Dou­glas.

To the SEPTA Cit­i­zens Ad­vi­sory Com­mit­tee, the board reap­pointed Sam Aden­baum.

To the Mont­gomery County Devel­op­ment Author­ity, the board reap­pointed An­drew San­tacroce.

To the Mont­gomery County Con­ser­va­tion Dis­trict Board of Di­rec­tors, the board reap­pointed Com­mis­sioner Arkoosh.

To the In­de­pen­dence Health Group Board of Di­rec­tors, the board reap­pointed Dan Woodall.

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from USA

© PressReader. All rights reserved.