‘Zanu-PF youth be­long to the Pres­i­dent’

The Sunday Mail (Zimbabwe) - - NEWS - Nor­man Muchemwa

THE Zanu-PF Youth League be­longs only to Pres­i­dent Mu­gabe and First Lady Amai Grace Mu­gabe, and no one within the rank and file should claim own­er­ship of the rul­ing party’s young sup­port­ers, a Polit­buro mem­ber has said.

The rul­ing party’s Na­tional Sec­re­tary for Youth Affairs, Cde Kudzanayi Chipanga, said while the youth re­spected the party’s lead­er­ship, that should not be taken to mean they were prone to be­ing used for self­ish ends.

He was ad­dress­ing the Zanu-PF Youth Assem­bly at the party’s head­quar­ters in Harare yes­ter­day.

“When it comes to the own­er­ship of the Youth League, only our Pres­i­dent and First Lady can claim that the Youth League is theirs; no one else in the Party can have that priv­i­lege.

“When it comes to re­spect, we re­spect all the party lead­ers and el­ders, but on the is­sue of sup­port, the youth sup­ports only Pres­i­dent and Amai,” he said.

He went on: “I stand to­day to reaf­firm our res­o­lu­tion which we had from day one that only the Pres­i­dent; and him alone, has the man­date to stand as our Pres­i­den­tial can­di­date in next year’s elec­tions. Who­ever has dif­fer­ent plans must ship out.”

Cde Chipanga ap­pealed for unity within all party or­gans, say­ing to­geth­er­ness was vi­tal ahead of elec­tions next year.

“The lead­er­ship of the party must be united at all cost as fail­ure to come to­gether af­fects the youth also,” he said

Cde Chipanga thanked the Pres­i­dent for in­ter­ven­ing in en­sur­ing youths who had been dis­missed from em­ploy­ment in Gov­ern­ment were re­in­stated.

Cde Chipanga ap­plauded the launch of Em­power Bank last week by the First Lady.

“We thank the launch of Em­power Bank by Dr Mu­gabe. It will give young peo­ple a chance to open and grow their busi­nesses,” he said.

The meet­ing drew pro­vin­cial ex­ec­u­tive youth mem­bers from the rul­ing party’s 10 prov­inces.

Also present were Vice-Pres­i­dents Em­mer­son Mnan­gagwa and Phelekezela Mphoko; Polit­buro mem­bers Cdes Ig­natius Chombo, Christo­pher Mushohwe and Pa­trick Zhuwawo; and Zanu-PF Women’s League na­tional sec­re­tary for ad­min­is­tra­tion Cde Leti­cia Un­denge.

Cde Chipanga

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from Zimbabwe

© PressReader. All rights reserved.