Description

Romance, intrigue, and dangerous ambitions combine to create the perfect escape: welcome to the beautiful Hotel Portofino on the magical Italian Riviera.   

 ***NOW A MAJOR TV DRAMA***

It is the summer of 1927 and Hotel Portofino is prospering under Bella’s stewardship. As the season begins, Bella is keenly looking forward to her son Lucian’s imminent arrival and the chance to discuss with him her plans to convert the hotel’s basement into a spa. But then Bella’s husband Cecil turns up unannounced,

Over the course of several hot weeks in the middle of the Italian summer, Bella is forced to confront the reality of her relationship with Cecil and to decide to what extent she is prepared to go against social convention to get what she wants. As she welcomes her guests, old and new, an anonymous visit from a travel guide inspector threatens to make or break the hotel’s future.

Enjoy a new season at Hotel Portofino, a heady historical drama set during the 1920s. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey and The Durrells.

About the author(s)

JP O’Connell has worked as an editor and writer for a variety of newspapers and magazines including Time Out, the Guardian, The Times and the Daily Telegraph.  JP has also written several books including a novel, a celebration of letter-writing, a spice encyclopaedia, and most recently an analysis of David Bowie’s favourite books and the ways they influenced his music. JP lives in London.
 

More Europe

More History