Baroque Jour­ney

BBC Music Magazine - - Reviews -

Works by JS Bach, Han­del, Couperin, Pur­cell et al

Lucie Horsch, Char­lotte Bar­bour­con­dini (recorders), Thomas Dun­ford (lute); Academy of An­cient Mu­sic/bo­jan i i

Decca 483 4722 66:51 mins

Fol­low­ing her ear­lier disc of Vi­valdi con­cer­tos, Dutch recorder vir­tu­oso Lucie ★orsch takes us on a Grand Tour of West­ern Eu­ro­pean Baroque mu­sic. As in her pre­vi­ous disc the pro­gramme is shared be­tween pieces writ­ten specif­i­cally for a mem­ber of the recorder fam­ily and ★orsch’s own ar­range­ments of mu­sic in­tended for other in­stru­ments and, in two in­stances, the voice.

The gen­uine recorder works in­clude con­cer­tos by Gio­vanni Bat­tista Sam­mar­tini and Jac­queschrist­ophe Nau­dot, both well loved by recorder play­ers, the Sam­mar­tini rank­ing among the finest recorder con­cer­tos of the early 18th cen­tury. Two short pieces by Ja­cob van

Eyck are also gen­uine recorder com­po­si­tions. In an ar­range­ment of ★an­del’s ‘The Ar­rival of the

Queen of Sheba’ ★orsch is joined by bass recorder player, Char­lotte Bar­bour-con­dini, who is fur­ther al­lot­ted solo Di­vi­sions by English com­poser, Thomas Tol­lett. ★e was a con­tem­po­rary of Pur­cell, whose cel­e­brated Lament from Dido and Ae­neas also features in this var­ied menu. Bach is gen­er­ously catered for with a con­certo, the ‘Badinerie’ from the B mi­nor Or­ches­tral

Suite and the aria, ‘Er­barme Dich’ from the St Matthew Pas­sion. Lute so­los by Dario Castello and François Couperin, played by Thomas Dun­ford com­plete a colour­ful panorama stylishly and af­fec­tion­ately ex­e­cuted by all con­cerned. Ni­cholas Anderson PER­FOR­MANCE ★★★★ RECORD­ING ★★★★

Newspapers in English

Newspapers from UK

© PressReader. All rights reserved.