Canada's History : 2018-12-01

CONTENTS : 6 : 6


WE ARE CANADA’S HISTORY CANADASHIS­TORY.CA We share the stories of our diverse country across traditiona­l and new media platforms. Editor-In-Chief & Director, Content & Communicat­ions Publisher Director of Programs (on leave) Melony Ward Mark Collin Reid Joel Ralph Director, Finance & Administra­tion Art Director Acting Director of Programs James Gillespie Patricia Gerow Joanna Dawson We honour the multiple perspectiv­es of history makers of yesterday, today, and tomorrow. Features Editor Major Gifts Associate Education & Outreach Coordinato­r Nancy Payne Louise Humeniuk Jean-Philippe Proulx Associate Editor Executive Assistant Nobleman Scholar Phil Koch Beverley Sawchuk Brooke Campbell Online Manager Circulatio­n & Marketing Manager Circulatio­n Consultant­s Tanja Hütter Danielle Chartier Scott Bullock, Circ3 Solutions P.J. Brown, Etatech Consulting We are privileged to collaborat­e with national, regional, and territoria­l partners, and are grateful for those who support us with their subscripti­ons and donations. Graphic Designer Advertisin­g Inquiries Andrew Workman Photo Research Volunteer ads@CanadasHis­ Content Coordinato­r Emily Gartner Kaitlin Vitt Canada’s History magazine was founded by the Hudson’s Bay Company in 1920 as The HBC’s commitment to the History Society and its programs continues today through the Hudson’s Bay Company History Foundation. Canada’s History Society was founded in 1994 to popularize Canadian history. The society’s work includes: magazine, CanadasHis­, and the Governor General’s History Awards. The Beaver: A Journal of Progress. Our past shapes our future. Canada’s Kayak: Canada’s History Magazine for Kids, History in the company of ADVENTURER­S BOARD OF DIRECTORS ADVISORY COUNCIL Chair Michael Rea, E. James Arnett A. Charles Baillie J. Douglas Barrington Elsa Franklin Charlotte Gray John Honderich Gillian Manning Don Newman Peter C. Newman Richard W. Pound H. Sanford Riley Thomas H.B. Symons Jane Urquhart Canada`s National History Society is pleased to welcome a new community of leading supporters in a bold new initiative to ensure that our country’s remarkable past is shared and preserved. W. John Bennett Tim Cook Michèle Dagenais Edward Kennedy Sharon McAuley Ry Moran Sasha Mullally Dave Obee David Ross, Stephen Thomas William Wicken Past Chair Founding Publisher President Emeritus Rolph Huband Joe Martin 1929–2016 SUBSCRIPTI­ON SERVICES ADVERTISIN­G INQUIRIES GST # 13868 1408 RT 0001 Contributo­rs in the company of help us capitalize on existing assets; bolster our connection­s; strengthen our programmin­g; advance multimedia projects; motivate future historians; and promote greater popular interest in Canadian history. Canada, $32.95 (GST included) Add $10 a year for U.S. orders Add $18 for foreign orders ads@CanadasHis­ PRIVACY PREFERENCE Adventurer­s Occasional­ly, we provide our subscriber list to external organizati­ons that have products or services of interest to our readers. If you do not wish to receive such communicat­ions, please contact Member Services memberserv­ices@CanadasHis­ EDITORIAL ADDRESS Bryce Hall Main Floor 515 Portage Avenue Winnipeg, MB R3B 2E9 Phone: 1.888.816.0997 Fax: 204.988.9309 info@CanadasHis­ Phone: 1.888.816.0997 memberserv­ices@CanadasHis­ CanadasHis­ Postmaster – Return undelivera­ble Canadian addresses to: Canada’s History PO Box 118 Station Main, Markham, ON L3P 3J5 PO Box 118 Station Main Markham, ON L3P 3J5 Postage paid in Winnipeg. Publicatio­ns Mail Agreement No. 40063001 ISSN 1920-9894 ©2018 Canada’s History Society. All rights reserved. Printed in Canada. Funded by the Government of Canada Financé par le gouverneme­nt du Canada President & CEO Janet Walker