Muster Dogs From Pups to Pros

A new companion book to the heartwarming show for fans of Back Roads and The Flying Vet

Description

How ten dogs stole the hearts of millions and changed lives forever, for fans of the TV show now streaming on ABC iview and Netflix.


When Muster Dogs first hit screens in 2022, viewers were enchanted. Five lively kelpie pups adopted into farming homes across Australia and put on an intensive training program became instant stars. Could they learn to herd and muster within a year? Could they show that working with dogs was a better way to farm?

With the help of expert breeders and working-dog educators, these pups and their new owners showcased not only what dogs are capable of but how they can lead to healthier livestock, top farm management and less stress on the environment.

Among those who lost their hearts to these amazing puppies was narrator Lisa Millar. In this companion book to the show, Lisa takes us behind the scenes to mete the cast, the crew as well as the star dogs themselves. She looks at how the show began and why it resonated with audiences, as well as the impact on her own life, juggling the Muster Dogs world with her day job presenting breakfast TV.

On this journey across two seasons of Muster Dogs, Lisa brings us up to date with all the beloved characters and pups from series one - and introduces us to five new tiny collies and their trainers that feature in series two.

With behaviour tips from trainers and experts, this is a book for everyone, from farm owners to city dog lovers. It will immerse you in affection, resilience and loyalty, all set against the wide brown and green land that is our Australian farming heartland.

About the author(s)

Lisa Millar is the co-host of ABC TV's News Breakfast. She returned to the ABC in Australia after finishing a decade-long posting as bureau chief in both London and Washington DC, covering some of the world's biggest stories. Millar began her career at the Gympie Times in 1988 and has worked in print, TV and radio. She won a Walkley Award in 2005 for investigative reporting.

In 2020 she narrated the hugely popular ABC series Muster Dogs and will do so again for the second series. Millar is the author of a bestselling memoir, Daring to Fly.

More Training

More Pets

More All Other Nonfiction

More Breeds

More Social Science

More Business & Economics

More Television

More Performing Arts